Home / The Festival / Presentation

The fifth anniversary of Champs-Élysées Film Festival

After four successful editions, Champs-Élysées Film Festival, created by the producer, distributor and exhibitor Sophie DULAC, celebrates its fifth anniversary from the 7th to the 14th of June, with the same will to bring the best of French and American cinema to the audience.

Have you ever experienced a film festival?

The stated ambition this year is to bring to the audience the best of French and American cinema, through a true festival experience: films, Q&As and masterclasses, but also events and special evenings entirely dedicated to festival-goers. Extending the cinema experience after the screening is the credo of this year’s selection.

For the first time, a jury made up of six personalities will attend the festival. Its six members embodies both the present and future of French cinema and litterature, the most beautiful medium for imagination, according to the President of the Jury: Déborah FRANÇOIS, Félix MOATI, Sophie LETOURNEUR, Vincent ROTTIERS, Zita HANROT and Philippe JAENADA.

Under the presidency of Nicole GARCIA and Alexandre AJA, the jury will be responsible for awarding the Jury Prize for Best American Independent Film.

Several guests will come meet with the audience:
– Director Mia HANSEN-LØVE, French Guest of Honor
– Writer-director Abel FERRARA, American Guest of Honor
– Actor-director Brady CORBET, American Independant Guest,
– Director Andrew DAVIS, Guest of Honor of the Chicago section.

The program of this edition includes :

  • A competition between eight unreleased American independent features, awarded by the Jury Prize, sponsored by Variety, and the Audience Award, sponsored by TitraFilm.
  • A competition between more than twenty American and French short films, awarded by the Audience Award for Best French Short Film and the Audience Award for Best American Short Film.
  • French and American previews, presented by the film casts and crews.
  • Four masterclasses by Nicole GARCIAAlexandre AJA, Abel FERRARA, Mia HANSEN-LØVE and Brady CORBET.
  • A highlight of the city of Chicago, on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the Friendship Pact between Paris and Chicago, through three themes: Urban Atmospheres, a carte blanche to the Chicago International Film Festival, and the science fiction night. The guest of honor for this section is Andrew DAVIS.
  • The American Spirit section, which focuses this year on the representation of politics in American Cinema, subtitled “Politics behind the Myth”.
  • (Re)discoveries”, restorations of classic masterpieces. The “Student Label” will be awarded to one of the films by a Franco-American student panel.
  • Mon Petit Ciné-Club, screenings for children and grown-ups with many surprises, hosted by Enfance Au Cinéma!
  • Industry Days, a professional event from June 8-10 with the fifth edition of U.S. in Progress, the third edition of Paris Coproduction Village, and a round-table conference on Virtual Reality.
  • A new section: The Experience is Present / New Visual Languages, in partnership with Les Jeudis Arty.

And let’s not forget some major nights:

  • On s’en foot, an amused nod to the 2016 Eurocup, on June 8th.
  • L’Inconnu du CinéClub by Télérama, on June 9th.
  • A round-table afternoon Courrier International + Jazz at the Mona Bismarck American Center on the June 12th.
  • A special evening, Politics behind the Myth, featuring trivia hosted by SensCritique, on June 12th.

The festival offers an exclusive and attractive admission rate: regular screenings are 6 euros for all audience, previews and masterclasses are 10 euros. Passes are available and offer many advantages. Ages 26 and under: 35 euros / Premium Pass: 50 euros.

Passes are on sale from now on on the festival website and on and from the 7th of June at the Publicis Orange Wifi Café.
 In total, more than 80 films and about a hundred screenings will take place in all the cinemas of the Champs-Élysées: the Balzac, the Gaumont Champs-Élysées, the Lincoln, the Publicis Cinémas and the UGC George V.